Sausage

I can’t say that I have ever made sausage, myself.  Personally I prefer hot Italian sausage, smothered in a spicy red sauce with tons of onions and peppers.  Seeing as it would probably equal about ½ of my daily Weight Watchers point allowance, I don’t go there too often anymore.  I do like chicken sausage… but it is hard to find one that tastes good.

Anyways, if you feel ambitious, have the $100 sausage stuffer unit for your KitchenAid and are longing to play with sausage casings, give this a go.  It doesn’t specify what type of meat, so try what you like best, whether it be beef, pork, chicken, venison or a combination of any.  Turkey is good too!  Sage is a universal yummy herb for sausage… perfect for pork!

Sausage

10 lbs. meat

5 T. salt

2 T. black pepper

2 T. sage (dry, rubbed)

1 T. dry mustard

1 T. brown sugar

No directions are included with this.  But from what I know (which isn’t much) you want to grind your meat, then add seasonings and then grind again.  You will then have the makings for your sausage, and can freeze it in bulk 1 pound packages or stuff it into casings.

Leave a Reply

