Oh Snap! Ginger Snaps that Snap

So if a ginger snap snaps, that must mean it’s crispy.  I guess.  I’ll confess no great love for ginger snaps or ginger bread.  Pa loves it though.  Maybe I’ll be nice and make some this fall with this recipe.  I really don’t like making cookies.  I find it tedious.  I prefer cakes or something that you throw in and walk away from… not something that I have to babysit constantly.  So be thankful, all you who are gifted Christmas cookies from me.  I went through a lot of pain and suffering to make those for you.  Especially my snickerdoodle people.  You know who you are.

Ginger Snaps that Snap

1 pint molasses – boil three  times

1 T. baking soda

1 cup shortening

1 T. salt (seems a bit much to me?)

4 ¼ cups flour

2 T. cinnamon

1 T. ginger

Add soda to hot syrup (molasses), then shortening.  Cool before adding flour sifted with salt and spices.  Roll thin and bake at 400F. (It doesn’t say for how long!  Start looking at them after 6-7 minutes.)  Remove from sheet at once and cool and store in tightly covered containers.  These cookies will keep indefinitely this way, but will soften in a short time if allowed to stand uncovered.

Leave a Reply

