Sunday Dinner – Rib Eye Marinade

Dangers of having more than one blog:  eventually, inevitably, and embarrassingly, you will post the wrong thing on the wrong blog.  Sorry about that.

Lazy, hazy Sunday.  I’m bored to tears already, and there is a lot of the day left still!  Nothing better to do than cook, eat, and work on Old Thyme I guess!

Today’s Sunday dinner consists of marinaded rib eye steak, grilled/baked taters, and some sort of vegetable, which has yet to be determined.  The marinade I use for my rib eye I found online at cooks.com years ago.  And it is very flavorful, without totally masking the steak.  This would work for chicken as well, I think… which would produce a richness that would be very tasty.

Rib Eye Marinade

1/2 c. soy sauce

2 T. sugar (I use about 1/2 T.)

1 clove garlic, chopped

1/4 c. vinegar

1/8 tsp. ground ginger

1/4 c. chopped onions

1/2 c. water

1/4 c. salad oil

Combine all the ingredients in a bag or shallow dish and marinade your steak up to 4 hours.  Somehow, I did not have enough cider vinegar in my house.  I don’t know how, because it is a staple in my house.  No problem, I just added enough red wine to equal 1/4 cup.  I don’t use that much sugar either.  I may try molasses some day, or brown sugar… or maple syrup.  My tolerance for ginger is very low as well, so I use about 1/2 called for.  Also, olive oil is substituted for salad oil.  Grill your steak over coals or in a pan according to the times below:

Grill each side:

10-12 minutes for rare

12-14 minutes for medium

14-16 minutes for well done

Slice thin and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

