Tomato Mincemeat

Here is one of those recipes that just sounds old fashioned.  I personally, cannot stand mincemeat.  My father happens to love it.  I think it is vile and evil.  (Notice how vile and evil are all the same letters… it’s not a coincidence, I’m sure!)  That being said, I still wouldn’t  give this a try, as it involves suet.  The stuff only fit for my birds, in my opinion.

Tomato Mincemeat

1 peck green tomatoes, chopped and drained

Place in pan, add as much water as tomatoes, cook, and then drain again.

Add:

5 pounds sugar

18 large apples or 2 ½ qts after they are chopped

2 pounds raisins

1 pound currants

1 pound butter or suet

1 tablespoon salt

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon cloves

1 ½ cups vinegar

Heat and boil slowly for 1 hour, can and seal. Makes 8 quarts.

 

2 thoughts on “Tomato Mincemeat

Leave a Reply

