Chicken Soup

It would seem that a combination of all three of my family has been ill at some point in this last month.  This batch of creepy crud that is going around is nasty. Quite frankly, I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired.

To that point, I have made a batch of my greatly loved Chicken Soup.  I’m not being boastful, my family truly thinks my chicken soup is the best thing ever in the universe.  I don’t mind that.  Makes me feel extra special 🙂

There is no real recipe that I follow.  I will try and walk you through the process as thoroughly as possible.  I use chicken thighs for my soup.  They have the best flavor.  And even though my Weight Watchers would disagree, you cannot make soup without skin and bones.  So throw three chicken thighs, with the skin and bones into your pot.  I also add a boneless, skinless chicken breast for some more chicken.  Cover with water, add about 2 teaspoons of salt and pepper to taste and bring to a boil.  Once boiling, cover and let simmer for 1/2 hour.  Skim off any crud that collects on the sides and top of your stock.  Remove the chicken to cool slightly.

Image

Chop three carrots, two stalks of celery with their leaves, 1 clove of garlic and about half a small onion.  Place this in your pot with the stock.  Add another can of chicken broth and a can of water.  Bring to a boil.  Add about 1-2 tablespoons of dried parsley, and 1 teaspoon of fresh thyme leaves. Check for salt and pepper, and let boil gently for 10 minutes.

Image

While vegetables are boiling, break chicken apart into bite size pieces.  Make sure you get the gristle out and try not to add too much of the fat.  I tend to not cut the chicken and just shred it by hand.  It’s just a personal preference thing.

Lower your heat until your soup is just simmering.  Add the juice from 1/2 of a lemon.  Return the chicken to the pot, and add your noodles.  I almost always use egg noodles, and put in a handful per person.  Highly scientific measuring!  Bring back to the boil!  Image

Let boil gently for about 10-15 minutes.  I usually shut it off after that and let it sit 30 minutes to an hour.  Trust me, it won’t get cool!  So there you have it.  My uber awesome recipe for chicken soup that will hopefully cure all our souls.  Oh yeah, and we will serve it with a loaf of Amish white bread and Amish butter.

Leave a Reply

