Chinese Tuna Casserole

As I sit in my home, socked in by lake effect snow today, it is nice to know that there is a casserole baking in the oven. It will be hearty, warm, and something that I will have to work out 14 hours to get rid of. But it will be worth it to have that warm and fuzzy feeling that you can only get from a hearty, baked casserole.

I am not making this recipe now though. My family is a bit purist when it comes to tuna casserole. I wouldn’t dare try this recipe on them. But it sounds tasty. Be sure to report back to me if you try this out! I love the addition of chow mien noodles on the top, as opposed to my normal potato chip (or even salt and vinegar chips) topping.

Chinese Tuna Casserolechinesetunacasserole

1 can tuna, drained
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1/2 soup can of water
1/2 cup chopped celery
1/4 cup chopped onion
1 large can show mien noodles
3 oz cashew nuts, chopped
1 can sliced mushrooms (do not drain)

Carefully blend all ingredients, reserving 1/2 can of chow mien noodles to be placed on the top of the casserole. Bake at 350F for 40 minutes uncovered. You can make this ahead of time, except for the noodle topping, and keep in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

